Massachusetts Medical Marijuana - Do's and Don'ts

A patient service provider dispenses dried medical marijuana flower

Massachusetts is currently home to approximately 60,000 registered medical marijuana patients. If you’re one of them, it’s important to protect yourself by understanding and abiding by state laws.

Do’s For Medical Marijuana Patients In Massachusetts:

  • DO meet with a certified Massachusetts doctor to get diagnosed with one of the dozens of qualifying medical conditions.
  • DO register online as soon as you get your PIN from your doctor. You’ll need to visit the Massachusetts state website in order to do this.
  • DO research dispensaries to be sure that they serve medical marijuana patients.
  • DO bring your MMJ card and state ID to all dispensary visits.
  • DO familiarize yourself with laws on growing cannabis. Medical marijuana patients in Massachusetts are permitted to grow up to 12 cannabis plants, but only six flowering.
  • DO start slowly. Keep a journal of medical marijuana products you’ve tried. Take notes of where you bought them, the effects you experienced, and how long they lasted.
  • DO try new things! You’ll be surprised at the wide variety of medical marijuana products available on the market.
  • DO ask questions of Nature’s Medicine’s Personal Service Providers. Our medical marijuana staff is highly trained and can walk you through the large selection of cannabis products in our dispensaries.
  • DO keep track of your 60-day allotment. In Massachusetts, you’re allowed up to ten ounces during that time. Most medical marijuana dispensaries will only sell patients one ounce per visit.

DON’TS For Medical Marijuana Patients In Massachusetts

  • DON’T lose your PIN number. It’s absolutely essential for your medical marijuana card registration. Without it, you won’t be able to complete your medical marijuana card application.
  • DON’T sell your medical marijuana to anyone. Only registered dispensaries are legally allowed to sell medical marijuana in Massachusetts.
  • DON’T grow more than the flowering 6-plant limit or 12-plant total limit
  • DON’T consume medical marijuana in public. It’s only legal to use in your own home. If you’re a renter, check your landlord’s policies.
  • DON’T forget to renew your medical marijuana card every year before it expires. To avoid lapses, It’s best to do so at least 60 days prior to your current medical marijuana card expiration date.

Questions? Rest assured that you can get the answers you need from our welcoming Personal Service Providers.

Need more information about buying medical marijuana in Massachusetts? Ask a Nature’s Medicines Patient Service Provider.

Visit our dispensaries in Massachusetts:
Fall River -
Recreational and Medical Marijuana Dispensary
Uxbridge -
Recreational Marijuana Dispensary
Wareham -
Recreational Marijuana Dispensary

For more information on medical marijuana in Massachusetts, see also:
How To Choose A Dispensary In Massachusetts
Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Laws
How To Get A Medical Marijuana (MMJ) Card In Massachusetts
How To Buy Medical Marijuana In Massachusetts
Massachusetts Marijuana Allotment
Medical Marijuana vs Recreational Marijuana Rules In Massachusetts
History Of Medical and Recreational Marijuana In Massachusetts
Fall River Medical Marijuana Certifiers