How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Michigan
In 2008, Michigan became the first Midwestern state to approve medical marijuana. The Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative (MCCI) made it possible for patients suffering from qualifying medical conditions to purchase medical marijuana.
Thanks to MCCI, patients over 18 years of age with a doctor's recommendation can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants for personal use. Minors need to designate a caregiver in order to obtain medical marijuana.
Get Diagnosed With A Qualifying Medical Condition
To become a registered medical marijuana patient in Michigan, you must first see a doctor and get diagnosed with one of the qualifying medical conditions. They are:
- HIV Positive
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Crohn’s Disease
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
- Nail Patella
- Post - Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Spinal Cord Injury
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Tourette’s Disease
- Chronic Pain
- Cerebral Palsy
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces 1 or more of the following:
- Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
- Severe and Chronic Pain
- Severe Nausea
- Severe and Persistent Muscle Spasms (Including but not limited to those characteristic of multiple sclerosis)
- Seizures (Including but not limited to those characteristic of epilepsy)
Request Your Medical Records
You’ll have to get your medical records from your doctor to show that you’ve been treated for your qualifying condition. Presenting your records is necessary for your state certification. Remember that your medical records belong to you. If you don’t feel comfortable talking to your doctor about medical marijuana, just say you need your records for personal reasons.
Find A Medical Marijuana Certification Clinic
What’s next? Bring your medical records and doctor’s diagnosis to a medical marijuana certification clinic where you can get your Michigan medical cannabis application.
Submit Your Medical Marijuana Card Application
After you’re approved for medical marijuana by a clinic, you’ll need to submit your completed application online to register with the state. Once registered, your Michigan medical marijuana card should soon follow. Some patients get approved in as little as one day. The cost for a card is approximately $200. As of November 2019, it’s valid for three years.
When your Michigan medical marijuana card arrives in the mail, it’s time to go shopping at Nature’s Medicines.
Visit our recreational and medical marijuana dispensary in Bay City, Michigan
Visit our recreational and medical marijuana dispensary in Wayne, Michigan
Visit our recreational marijuana dispensary in Battle Creek (Emmett Township), Michigan
Visit our medical marijuana dispensary in District 7 (Detroit), Michigan
For more information on medical marijuana in Michigan, see also:
How To Choose A Dispensary In Michigan
Michigan Medical Marijuana Laws
How To Buy Medical Marijuana In Michigan
Michigan Allotment Of Medical Marijuana
Michigan Medical Marijuana – Do’s And Don’ts
Medical Marijuana vs Adult Use Marijuana Rules In Michigan
History Of Medical Marijuana In Michigan
Bay City Medical Marijuana Certifiers
Wayne Medical Marijuana Certifiers