How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Maryland
Maryland has been a medical marijuna state since 2014 when the legislature approved the opening of up to 94 dispensaries, with two allowed for each Senate district. Maryland has also moved forward to decriminalize small amounts of medical marijuana and certain types of paraphernalia. Rules and requirements of the state’s medical marijuana program are overseen by the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC).
How to Become a Medical Marijuana Patient in Maryland
To purchase medical marijuana in Maryland, you have to meet certain qualifications and become a registered patient. The first step is to register with the state to get the process started. You’ll be asked to provide a state-issued ID, a valid email address, the last four digits of your Social Security number, a government-issued photo, as well as proof of residence. Minors under 18 are required to register with a caregiver.
Non-Resident Medical Marijuana Patients
If you’re not a resident of Maryland, you can still register as a patient as long as you’re receiving medical treatment in-state. There are many non-resident medical marijuana patients in Maryland since Johns Hopkins and other nationally recognized medical centers treat hundreds of patients from all over the country every year.
Medical Marijuana Physician Certification
Once you’ve registered on Maryland’s website to obtain your medical marijuana card, you’ll need to get written certification from your doctor. That means being examined by a physician who finds that you meet one of the following medical marijuana qualifying conditions:
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Severe nausea
- Severe pain
Another chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective If you’ve been diagnosed with one or more of the qualifying conditions, you’ll get a Patient ID number to bring to your doctor so that you can complete the medical marijuana card application process. Be sure to find a doctor who is currently registered for the program with the state of Maryland or you won’t get properly certified. Once you’ve accomplished this, you’ll receive your official written certification by mail. The fee will be around $200 to get your medical marijuana card in Maryland that will be valid for one year. If you’re a veteran, be sure to mention your status. Your physician might offer you a discount based on your service to the country.
Medical Marijuana Caregivers For Minors
Minors under the age of 18 in Maryland who need medical marijuana cards must register with at least one, but no more than two, caregivers. A caregiver must be at least 21 years of age and be a legal guardian to the minor medical marijuana patient.
Before a minor medical marijuana patient can have a caregiver, the caregiver must be registered with the state of Maryland. Once registered, a caregiver is allowed to help minors obtain their medical marijuana certifications.
Purchasing Medical Marijuana In Maryland
Once you’ve completed all the steps to get your medical marijuana card, including state approval, you’ll receive an email containing a printable temporary card. Since it usually takes about a month from start to finish for your medical marijuana card to arrive in the mail, you’ll be happy to know that you can use your temporary card for dispensary purchases in the meantime.
Visit our medical marijuana dispensary in Crofton, Maryland
Visit our medical marijuana dispensary in Ellicott City, Maryland
For more information on medical marijuana in Maryland, see also:
How To Choose A Dispensary In Maryland
Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws
How To Buy Medical Marijuana in Maryland
Maryland Allotment of Medical Marijuana
Maryland Medical Marijuana – Do’s and Don’ts
History of Medical Marijuana in Maryland
Crofton Medical Marijuana Certifiers
Ellicott City Medical Marijuana Certifiers