How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Connecticut
When state Senate Bill 1014 was signed into law in June 2012, Connecticut legalized the use of medical marijuana. This was not a major surprise. Almost exactly a year prior, the state began decriminalization for certain marijuana charges. For instance, if you’re caught with less than an ounce of cannabis in Connecticut now (and you don’t have a medical marijuana card) you’ll find yourself paying a fee rather than catching a misdemeanor charge. Be careful though as there are still misdemeanor and felony charges out there for unlawful possession, distribution, and cultivation.
Step 1: Have A Qualifying Medical Condition
In Connecticut the first step to getting a medical marijuana card is having one of the many qualifying medical conditions. Make an appointment with your doctor to discuss your desire for medical marijuana. Keep in mind that a doctor will have to diagnose you with one (or more) of the qualifying conditions to certify you for the use of medical cannabis.
Here’s a look at just some of the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana. (It’s important to know that the entity that approves certification, Connecticut’s Department of Consumer Protection (DCP), may contest your doctor’s certification if your doctor feels your condition warrants medical marijuana usage, but doesn’t specifically outline a qualifying condition.
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
Step 2: Complete Your Connecticut MMJ Application Online
Once a doctor has determined you’re eligible for a qualifying condition, he or she will register you with the DCP. At that point you’ll log on and complete the application that your doctor initiated for you.
Step 3: Verify Your Identity
With the application complete, the next step is to provide some basic information to the DCP including:
- a valid ID like your driver’s license or passport
- a proof of residence like a utility bill, rent / lease statement (dated within 90 days)
- an up-to-date photograph
Step 4: Pay The Registration Fee
After your application is submitted, you’ll pay a $100 registration fee. You can do this online or send the payment via money order or check. Upon approval by the DCP, you’ll get a temporary certificate that allows you to buy medical marijuana from an official state-licensed dispensary. The official certificate can take up to 30 days to process.
Step 5: Select A Dispensary And Buy Medical Marijuana
You’ll be able to select a dispensary through the same website where you submitted your application. With your information in the system, you’ll be free to buy medical marijuana from the dispensary you’ve chosen. There’s a variety of ways to consume medical marijuana and some dispensaries may offer more options than others. At Nature’s Medicines, we offer you a wide variety of medical marijuana products, including:
Keep in mind that you can change your dispensary if you find one you like more, but you can only change dispensaries a maximum of four times a year.
Nature’s Medicines has caring Pharmacists who will be happy to educate and serve you. We hope you’ll visit our medical marijuana dispensary in Mansfield for all of your needs.